Literary Agent Rejection Letters

giftsofrejectionSo far, I have gotten two rejection letters from literary agencies and have not heard back from several others.  Of course, I just started sending out these letters as of last week, so I don’t expect all of them to get back to me so soon.  Nevertheless, rejection is always difficult, but in the world of writing books, it happens constantly.  I don’t take it personally, I just move on.  However, I am a little apprehensive about the state of the query letters I’ve been writing (for those who don’t know, query letters are the letters that writers send to literary agents to try and get them to represent their book and help them get published).  Am I doing something wrong?  I’ve been following the formatting guidelines that I have read about during my research on this subject, and I believe I am writing proper query letters, but I am thinking I could make them better.  Truly, I am unsure.  Perhaps it is just the book itself that the literary agents don’t think will be worth their while.  Or perhaps, there is something more I could do to reel these agents in so that they will want to represent me.  Who knows.  This is a journey and I am learning as I go.  If anyone has recommendations for me, they would be greatly appreciated.  If anyone has gone through this process before, I would love to hear from you.

–Ian

Leave a Reply

